Delete or Cancel Secondary Tumblr Blog


Is there any way to delete/cancel any of your additional or secondary Tumblelogs?.  Indeed, following the steps below will give you the info required to cancel/delete/erase a secondary/alternative Tumblelog on Tumblr.



How to Delete a Secondary Blog on Tumblr.

  1. In your dashboard, looking your sidebar you will see the title of you main blog, and right next to it a drop down menu, click on it and choose the secondary tumblelog that you want to delete.
  2. Once in your secondary blog’s dashboard, there will be a new option right under the blog’s name in the sidedar (same place as in the first step).  The link is called Members. click on it.
  3. You will be taken to another screen, there’s an option called Leave This Blog, if you are the only member of this blog, it will get deleted after you confirm this step.

You might also wanto to try adding a scroll to top button for your tumblr blog, it allows your users to easily navigate your site if you have tumblr endless scrolling.

34 Responses to "Delete or Cancel Secondary Tumblr Blog"

Add Comment
  1. Robynne

    July 18, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I’ve done all this, but when I go onto members it only says my first tumblr blog, not my second one, which is the one I wish to delete.

    [Reply]

    Mr. Tumblr Reply:

    It’s not listing your main blog, it’s listing your USERNAME for your TUMBLR ACCOUNT, which happens to be the same name for your main tumblr blog!

    [Reply]

  2. mememe

    November 7, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    omg thank you sooo much~~~!!

    [Reply]

  3. OOZYSERA

    February 24, 2011 at 2:21 pm

    That was helpful! Thank you!

    [Reply]

  4. Nikunj

    May 7, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Thanks man was searching this for hours little things on Tumblr sometime gets more complicated

    [Reply]

  5. kay

    June 9, 2011 at 6:15 am

    this worked easily, thanks much.x

    [Reply]

  6. Inayah

    June 18, 2011 at 12:48 am

    Thank you so much! This was so helpful!

    [Reply]

  7. Madelin

    July 5, 2011 at 3:44 am

    Thank You!!

    [Reply]

  8. karlieyrae

    August 1, 2011 at 1:49 am

    omg thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    [Reply]

  9. Kristen

    August 15, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Thank you! I’ve been looking everywhere for how to do this!

    [Reply]

  10. craeu

    August 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

    thank you… very helpfull… :) keep it up!

    [Reply]

  11. kerli

    December 14, 2011 at 10:54 am

    but it show’s me only my main blog to delete , i’m not that brave to try that

    [Reply]

    Mr. Tumblr Reply:

    It’s not your main blog, it’s listing your USERNAME for your TUMBLR ACCOUNT, which happens to be the same name for your main tumblr blog!

    [Reply]

  12. Ashley

    December 26, 2011 at 6:09 am

    This helped me A LOT! Thanks c:

    [Reply]

  13. James

    December 31, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    Ok so whenever i try to delete my second blog my original blog comes up and next to it is “Leave This blog”.
    Is this telling me to leave my secondary blog or my primary case my primary is the one shown?
    I think it’s secondary but I’m afraid i’ll accidentally delete my primary :/

    [Reply]

    Mr. Tumblr Reply:

    No, only your secondary blog will be deleted, what comes up is not your original blog’s name, but your username for tumblr, that applies to you main blog as well.

    [Reply]

  14. sarah

    January 28, 2012 at 2:41 am

    Following these instructions, when I get to the “Leave This Blog” step, the main blog is listed, not the secondary blog I want to delete. Is this working as designed, my misunderstanding, or a bug?

    [Reply]

    Mr. Tumblr Reply:

    You are not going to the secondary blog I guess, and yes, your username will come up since it’s related to all your blogs.

    [Reply]

  15. kimmy122122

    April 10, 2012 at 4:39 am

    so the blog that your the only member in will get deleted ? so that means no win then ? because you loose your first blog, the main one … D: its a loss – loss then .. isnt there a way to only delete your second blog and not your main one ?

    [Reply]

  16. hxcdrummer

    May 1, 2012 at 12:52 am

    I dont even see any link that says members. im on the second blog but don’t know where to go from there.

    [Reply]

  17. Christopher

    May 17, 2012 at 1:17 am

    I made a blog and then added another. I want to delete the first one. (For some reason the second one became admin). I am the only user on both. With the first blog, I don’t have the “Members” option!!! Does this mean that my very first blog is impossible to delete?!

    [Reply]

  18. Carmen

    May 19, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    I would like to delete the main blog and keep the secondary blog… is there any possible way to delete the main blog without deleting the whole account?

    [Reply]

  19. Savannah

    June 11, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    Do you know a way you can do this from the iOS app?

    [Reply]

  20. Kat

    June 25, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Is there anyway to delete your first blog while keeping you secondary? Thank you xo

    [Reply]

  21. anna

    August 8, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Ive tried to do all of this, but the option for the dashboard of my first account doesnt appear. It acts as if the second one, the one i want to delete, is the main one. i dont know what do do anymore ughhh

    [Reply]

  22. Bethany

    August 10, 2012 at 1:54 am

    mine doesn’t say ‘Leave this blog’ it says ‘Delete this blog’ which is referring to my main one. I’m scared it got changed so that whenever i click that, it will delete my main blog :c

    [Reply]

  23. alyssa

    September 4, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    when i go to the confirm delete secondary blog page it asks me to confirm the name of my blog that i want to delete.. how do i do that? please help!!!

    [Reply]

  24. Emily

    September 10, 2012 at 7:47 am

    mine only says “delete this blog”?

    [Reply]

  25. Maika

    September 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    I tried to do it, but when I click on “Leave this Blog”, it redirects me to a “Not Found” page. I can’t delete it… Halp meh!

    [Reply]

  26. tammy

    November 12, 2012 at 1:19 am

    I did all this and I was the only member, so instead of Leave This Blog it said Delete, so I clicked on it and it said that the page was Not Found. What should I do? Why does this happen? After I go back to my dshboard the secodary blog still exists so it’s not being deleted!

    [Reply]

  27. zoey

    December 6, 2012 at 12:00 am

    i clicked on it but the thing that says members dosn’t come up

    [Reply]

  28. ayana

    December 9, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    im doing everything but ist saying “Please confirm the name of the blog you would like to delete.”
    i just dont know what to do next

    [Reply]

  29. Caitlyn

    December 21, 2012 at 1:14 am

    For some reason when I follow all of those steps it tells me that I need to confirm the blog that I want to delete… But i don’t understand cause I followed all of the stepss.. Can someone help me.. Lol I’m sorry.

    [Reply]

  30. Krissy

    March 20, 2013 at 2:15 am

    I’ve done all the steps but where it says enter the url you want to delete and I enter mine, I always get this message : “Please confirm the name of the blog you would like to delete.” even when I’ve already filled it out. Why is this happening?

    [Reply]

Submit a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>